April 30, 2012

Four Nebraska Lawmakers Leave ALEC

Four Nebraska Lawmakers Leave ALECAs of last week, 28 lawmakers decided to end their membership in the corporate front group the American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC). Today, four Nebraska lawmakers — state senators Heath Mello (D), Jeremy Nordquist (D), Danielle Conrad (D), and Ken Haar (D) — announced that they are leaving ALEC or recently decided not to renew their membership.

“They’ve become very extreme on a lot of issues,” said Mello. “I don’t want to be used as a political pawn.” We applaud these senators for departing from ALEC and we hope that many more of every political persuasion will soon make the same decision.