April 26, 2012

28 Lawmakers Have Quit ALEC This Month

The exodus of major corporations from the corporate front group American Legislative Exchange Council (ALEC) has made headlines nationwide as the group’s agenda has been increasingly scrutinized by the general public.

But as these corporations have fled ALEC, there has also been one other little-noticed exodus from the group: that of legislators.  SourceWatch and Keystone Progress have been tracking the defections of lawmakers. Here are 28 who have left so far:

– Sen. Nan Orrock (D-GA): “As a member of the American Legislative Exchange Council for several years, having joined ALEC with the primary goal of better understanding the corporate-dominated organization, I know first-hand that ALEC is not the innocuous organization it claims to be.” [4/17/12]

– Sen. Greg Cromer (R-LA): “‘It has been brought to my attention that there have been meetings and/or activities with ALEC staff members within the state of Louisiana that I have not been privy to,’ Cromer wrote in his resignation letter that went out as an email to key lawmakers and staffers.” [4/17/12]

– Sen. Mike Colona (D-MO): “‘Their agenda is radical and wrong for Missouri. I was a member and saw firsthand the sort of extreme legislation they push on state legislators around the country,’ Cromer said in a statement to the organization “Progress Missouri.” [4/12/12]

– Pennsylvania Reps. Kate Harper (R), Sandra Major (R), Mark Mustio (R), Harry Readshaw (D), and Sen. John Pippy (R) [4/26/12]

– Sen. George Muñoz (D-NM) [4/20/12]

– Rep. Ted Vick (D-SC): “Recent revelations concerning ALEC’s funding sources from radical elements have proven to be the final straw for me. ALEC has become too partisan and too extreme.” [4/24/12]

– Nebraska Senators Danielle Conrad (D), Tony Fulton (R), Health Mello (D), and Jeremy Norquist (D) [4/26/12]

– Texas Democratic Party Reps. Alma Allen, Armando Martinez, Dawnna Dukes, Hubert Vo, Harold Dutton, Chente, Quintanilla, Eddie Rodriguez, José Menéndez, Ruth Jones McClendon, Eric Johnson, Tracy King, Ryan Guillen [4/2012]

– Rep. Jennifer Selig (D-UT) [4/9/12]

– Rep. Kevin Van De Wege (D-WA): “My membership status is increasingly becoming a divisive issue this year, and I prefer to put my time and energy into efforts that unite our district rather than divide it.” [4/11/12]

We applaud these legislators for leaving the corporate front group, which has been responsible for pushing destructive special interest legislation, from climate change denial in schools, to anti-union and anti-consumer bills, to the controversial Voter ID and Stand Your Ground laws.


  • Pingback: Five Pennsylvania Legislators Leave ALEC |()

  • Sandygray1247

    My hat is off to these lawmakers who had the courage to leave ALEC. I wish the others would join them!

  • Christopher Summerour

    These people knew what ALEC was about all along. Good to know they’re out though!!

  • Im personally taking the time to write each Pa legislature to thank them, i think the more we encourage and thank them when they finally do something right, they just might get something besides money – satisfaction knowing you did the right thing.

  • Hmadd

    I hope they also stop following ALEC’s lead.

  • Pingback: Four Nebraska Lawmakers Leave ALEC()

  • Lori

    So then, where are they going after leaving ALEC? What did they find to take its place?

  • Pingback: Are you now or have you ever been a member of ALEC?()

  • snapshot55


  • Pingback: Trackback()

  • Pingback: Trackback()

  • Pingback: Facebook.com()

  • Pingback: Trackback()

  • Pingback: Trackback()

  • Pingback: Trackback()

  • Pingback: Trackback()

  • Pingback: Trackback()

  • Pingback: Trackback()

  • Pingback: Cheats for Poptropica()

  • Pingback: Trackback()

  • Pingback: Trackback()

  • Pingback: bractea avolitional arminian()

  • Pingback: agen gasa()

  • Pingback: Trackback()

  • Pingback: Love Letters For Him()

  • Sonia Bentley

    I am disheartened to realize some of my most trusted representatives in the Nebraska legislature were members of ALEC all along. The most damaging thing we have done to freedom and democracy is to allow corruption and dirty money to drive our choices. So sad to see your names on this list Jeremy Nordquist, Danielle Conrad and Heath Mello.